Backstage

Story Behind EDGE’s Establishment

In March 2013 BME EDGE (Extramural Development in Graduate Education) was awarded funding by the JHU Office of Provost as part of its PhD Innovation Initiative put forward with the goal of reinvigorating the PhD training at Johns Hopkins and beyond. Although doctoral programs focus on training PhD students for faculty positions, within the past decade nearly two-thirds of our recent PhD graduates have chosen non-academic positions. As the number one ranked BME department in the nation, we are taking the lead to address this unmet need.

EDGE is established as a dedicated departmental center to give our students a glimpse of what can lie ahead post-graduation and prepare them to excel in their careers upon receiving their PhDs. Building a solid connection with our alumni, industries, governmental agencies, start-ups and other academic labs is at the core of the BME EDGE function. 

EDGE2013

EDGE 2017-18 Executive Team
Director of Corporate Development:
Chuck Montague cmontague@jhu.edu
Co-Chairs:
Christine O’Keefe cmokeefe13@gmail.com
Joseph Yu joseph.k.yu12@gmail.com
Treasurer:
Alex Trick atrick1@jhu.edu
Director(s) of Internships:
Chin-Fu Liu cliu104@jhu.edu
Kai Lim klim19@jhmi.edu
Director(s) of Professional Development:
Kevin Day kday8@jhu.edu
Director(s) of Careers:
David Wilson david.wilson@jhu.edu
Director(s) of Public Relations:
Tessy Lal tlal1@jhmi.edu
Webmaster:
Ariel Isser ariel.isser@gmail.com

EDGE 2016-17 Executive Team
Director of Corporate Development
Chuck Montague cmontague@jhu.edu
Director of Alumni Development and Financial Manager
Cathy Schoonover cschoonover@jhu.edu
Co-Chairs:
Zinnia Xu zxu20@jhmi.edu
Alyssa Kosmides akosmides@jhu.edu
Office Assistant:
Leslie Stabile lstabil2@jhu.edu
Treasurer
Christine O’Keefe cmokeefe13@gmail.com
Director(s) of Internships:
Joseph Yu joseph.k.yu12@gmail.com
Director(s) of Professional Development:
Randall Meyer spuds684@gmail.com
Director(s) of Careers:
Wenxuan Liang wliang5@jhmi.edu
Director(s) of Public Relations:
Tessy Lal tlal1@jhmi.edu
Director of Integration
Melanie Zile melzile11@gmail.com
Webmaster
Joseph Galaro j.galaro@gmail.com

EDGE 2015-16 Executive Team
Director of Corporate Development
Chuck Montague cmontague@jhu.edu
Director of Alumni Development and Financial Manager
Cathy Schoonover cschoonover@jhu.edu

Co-Chairs:
Melanie Zile melzile11@gmail.com
Zinnia Xu zxu20@jhmi.edu
Office Assistant:
Leslie Stabile lstabil2@jhu.edu

Secretary:
Griffin Milsap gmilsap1@jhu.edu
Treasurer
Christine O’Keefe cmokeefe13@gmail.com

Director(s) of Internships:
Alyssa Kosmides akosmides@jhu.edu
Joseph Yu joseph.k.yu12@gmail.com
Director(s) of Professional Development:
Andrew Li ali36@jhu.edu

Director(s) of Careers:
Michael Ketcha mketcha3@jhmi.edu
Liam Chung liamchung.jhu@gmail.com
Director(s) of Public Relations:
Isac Lee ilee29@jhmi.edu

Webmaster
Joseph Galaro j.galaro@gmail.com

EDGE 2014-15 Executive Team
Director of Corporate Development
Chuck Montague cmontague@jhu.edu
Director of Alumni Development and Financial Manager
Cathy Schoonover cschoonover@jhu.edu
Co-Chairs:
Peter Boutros peter.boutros@jhu.edu
Janaka Senarathna dsenara1@jhu.edu
Office Assistant:
Jasmine Gillus jgillus3@jhu.edu
Secretary:
Griffin Milsap gmilsap1@jhu.edu
Treasurer
Melanie Zile melzile11@gmail.com
Director(s) of Internships:
Alyssa Kosmides akosmides@jhu.edu
Zinnia Xu zxu20@jhmi.edu
Director(s) of Professional Development:
Taeyoung Hwang taeyoungh@gmail.com
DJ Shin shin.dongjin@gmail.com
Director(s) of Careers:
Robert Nickl rnickl1@jhmi.edu
Matt Fifer fifer@jhmi.edu
Director(s) of Public Relations:
Dan Wu dwu18@jhu.edu
Christine O’Keefe cmokeefe13@gmail.com
Webmaster
Joseph Galaro j.galaro@gmail.com

EDGE 2013-14 Executive Team
Director of Corporate Development
Chuck Montague cmontague@jhu.edu
Director of Alumni Development and Financial Manager
Cathy Schoonover cschoonover@jhu.edu
Co-Chairs:
Matt Fifer fifer@jhmi.edu
Iraj Hosseini iraj@jhu.edu
Treasurer:
Ye Zhang yzhan119@jhmi.edu
Secretary:
Zinnia Xu zxu20@jhmi.edu
Web Developer:
Shiva Razavi srazavi@jhmi.edu
Director(s) of Internships:
Peter Boutros peter.boutros@jhu.edu
Heather Benz benz@jhu.edu
Director(s) of Professional Development:
Michael Batista batista@jhu.edu
Robert Nickl rnickl1@jhmi.edu
Director(s) of Career Fairs:
Liang-Hui (Lawrence) Chu lchu5@jhmi.edu
Hao Dang hao.dang@jhu.edu
Director(s) of Public Relations:
Liheng Guo lguo5@jhmi.edu
Janaka Senarathna dsenara1@jhu.edu
Director(s) of Engagement:
Randall Meyer rmeyer16@jhmi.edu
Jeffrey Pompe jpompe1@jhu.edu